## NORTH PENN SCHOOL DISTRICT

Educational Services Center 401 E. Hancock Street, Lansdale, PA

Board of School Directors Special Action Meeting

## March 6, 2018

The One Thousand Seventy-ninth meeting of the Board of School Directors of the North Penn School District was held on Tuesday, March 6, 2018, at the Educational Services Center, 401 E. Hancock Street, Lansdale, PA.

The following members were present:

Tina Stoll Jenna Ott

Mark Warren Terry Prykowski Juliane Ramic' Edward Diasio Christian Fusco Jonathan Kassa

Also present were the following persons:

Curtis Dietrich Christine Liberaski

Stephen Skrocki, Board Secretary

The meeting was called to order by Tina Stoll at 8:30 p.m. Tina Stoll reminded those in attendance that the meeting was being videotaped by the school district for the community cable channel. Tina Stoll requested that members of the audience wishing to address the board should come to the microphone, state their name and address, sign the audience of citizen's log book, and limit their questions and comments to permit time for all of those who wished to speak to the board.

## Executive Session – Tina Stoll

The Board met in Executive Session tonight from 6:30 to 7:20 p.m., prior to the Worksession, to discuss matters of Personnel, negotiations and potential litigation.

During the Audience of Citizens William Patchell of Lansdale, spoke to the Board on the topic of taxes and busses; Ed Madge of Lansdale as well as Cindy O'Brien on the topic of transportation.

At this time Tina Stoll, Board President, read a statement from the Board on the topic of School Solidarity.

Jonathan Kassa reminded all that there will be a Safe Schools Meeting on March 12<sup>th</sup> at the ESC and that he and the Board are exploring the option of holding a Safe Schools Forum. Additional information to follow.

A motion was made by Edward Diasio, seconded by Theresa Prykowski, to approve the minutes from the February 15, 2018, Action Meeting as circulated.

- This motion was carried by eight (8) ayes -

A motion was made Edward Diasio, seconded by Theresa Prykowski, to approve Sweet, Stevens, Katz & Williams LLP as District Solicitors effective March 6, 2018, at a rate of \$160 per hour for attorneys and \$125 per hour for legal assistants for routine matters and \$195 per hour for attorneys and \$125 per hour for legal assistants for non-routine matters as per the attached fee proposal, Item # BA-2 (A-B), affixed hereto and made an official part of these minutes. See pages 18682 (A-B).

- This motion was carried by eight (8) ayes -

At this time in the meeting, Edward Diasio welcomed Mr. Kyle Sommers as District Solicitor. Mr. Somers thanked the Board for the appointment.

A motion was made by Edward Diasio, seconded by Mark Warren, to approve Rudolph Clarke LLC as special counsel for matters as determined by the Superintendent or Board effective March 7, 2018, at a rate of \$170.00 per hour as per the attached fee proposal, Item # BA-3, affixed hereto and made an official part of these minutes. See page 18683.

- This motion was carried by eight (8) ayes -

A motion was made by Jenna Ott, seconded by Theresa Prykowski, to approve Fox Rothschild LLP as special counsel for matters as determined by the Superintendent or Board effective March 7, 2018, at a rate of \$190.00 per hour as per the attached fee proposal, per Item # BA-4 (A-J), affixed hereto and made an official part of these minutes. See pages 18684 (A-J).

- This motion was carried by eight (8) ayes -

At this time the Mr. Patchell spoke to the Board regarding the School Board vacancy.

Stephen Skrocki explained the voting process - Nominations were opened and Theresa Prykowski nominated Mr. Moser and Christian Fusco nominated Mrs. Gee.

A motion was made by Edward Diasio, seconded by Jonathan Kassa to close nominations.

- This motion was carried by eight (8) ayes -

Voting ensued – Mrs. Gee – received 5 votes and Mr. Moser 3 votes. (POLLED VOTE) The Board President, Tina Stoll, congratulated Mrs. Gee on her appointment to the NP School Board.

At this time, District Justice, Suzan Leonard, swore in the new school board member, Elisha Gee.

Mrs. Gee took her place at the Board table.

There being no further business to come before the Board for the Special Action Meeting, the same was adjourned upon motion by Christian Fusco, seconded by Jenna Ott, and unanimously carried at 8:59 p.m.